Term dates for 2017-2018

2017 school terms and holidays

START DATE END DATE HOLIDAYS
Term 1 - 10 or 11 weeks Between Monday 30 January (at the earliest);
and Tuesday 7 February (at the latest)
Thursday 13 April
(96-106 half days)
Public holiday: Waitangi DaySchool holiday: 2 weeks (includes Easter and Easter Tuesday and Anzac Day)
Friday 14 April – Sunday 30 April
Term 2 - 10 weeks Monday 1 May Friday 7 July
(98 half days)
Public holiday: Queen's birthday

School holiday: Saturday 8 July – Sunday 23 July

Term 3 - 10 weeks Monday 24 July Friday 29 September
(100 half days)
2 weeks
Saturday 30 September – Sunday 15 October
Term 4 - up to 10 weeks Monday 16 October Primary, intermediate and special schools:
No later than Wednesday 20 December
(94 half days)*Secondary and composite:
No later than Thursday 14 December
(86 half days)**
Public holidays: Labour Day 23 October, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day

School holiday: 5-6 weeks from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year.

* Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 388 half days in 2017.
** Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half days in 2017.

 2018 school terms and holidays

START DATE END DATE  HOLIDAYS
Term 1 - 11 weeks Between Monday 29 January
(at the earliest);
and Wednesday 7 February (at the latest)
Friday 13 April
(90 -102 half days)
Public holidays: Waitangi Day 6 February,

Easter: Good Friday 30 March, Easter Monday 2 April
and Easter Tuesday 3 April (a school holiday)

School holiday: Saturday 14 April - Sunday 29 April (includes ANZAC day 25 April).

Term 2 - 10 weeks Monday 30 April Friday 6 July
(98 half days)
Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday 4 June

School holiday: Saturday 7 July – Sunday 22 July

Term 3 - 10 weeks Monday 23 July Friday 28 September
(100 half days)
School holidays: Saturday 29 September – Sunday 14 October
Term 4 - up to 10 weeks Monday 15 October Primary, intermediate and special schools:
No later than Thursday 20 December
(96 half days)*Secondary and composite:
No later than Tuesday 18 December
(92 half days)**
Public holidays: Labour Day 22 October, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day

School holiday: 5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year)

 

* Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 384 half days in 2018.
** Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half days in 2018.